Winger on comeback trail for Juventus

Juventus winger Simone Pepe has begun to eye a comeback for the Old Lady over a year after last playing for the club.

The Italian has been plagued by injury since his problems began in pre-season before the 2012-2013 campaign and hasn’t played a competitive game since November 2012.

“It’s been hard.” He told Sky Sport Italia. 

“To go a year without playing, for someone who is a footballer, is a horrible thing.

“To watch your teammates train for four months while I was out was difficult.

“I’ve been away from the field of play for 362 days, but I’ve only been missing from the Vinovo training complex on the days when I needed scans.

“I can’t think of quitting, though, as there is still a great desire. I did have doubts, I can’t deny that, but now there is a good chance that I will return.”

He has admitted he hasn’t set a possible return date yet, but is back in light training.

“I can’t tell you when I will be back, but I’m well now and I’m running. We’ll evaluate things on a daily basis and then we’ll decide.”

Follow Conor Clancy on Twitter: @concalcio

Leave a Reply

