Vargas: Fiorentina fans have always loved me

Fiorentina winger Juan Manuel Vargas has stated that the club’s fans have always appreciated him.

The 30-year-old has been with the Viola since joining from Catania for a fee of €12 million in 2008, but spent the 2012-13 campaign on loan with Genoa, though he’s still been shown the same respect as always since his return to Florence this season.

Vargas spoke to La Nazione about the love he received from supporters upon scoring his first goal this season in a 2-2 draw with Parma on September 30.

“The people have always loved me here,” said the Peruvian international.

“Have you seen how I was greeted when I scored my goal against Parma? My challenge is to always make sure I’m ready.”

Vargas has netted two goals in his six Serie A appearances for Fiorentina this season thus far, which gives him a total of 14 goals in 110 league appearances for the club since his arrival.

Leave a Reply

